This past June, Illinois became the 11th state to legalize marijuana. Under the new law, adults over the game of 21 may possess up to 30 grams of marijuana. The product cannot be used in public; use is restricted to private residences. Individuals are not allowed to grow their own marijuana plants without a medical marijuana prescription.
In August, Governor Pritzker signed a law related to baby changing stations. Under this new law, any public building with restrooms open and accessible to the public must include at least one rest room that includes a changing table for a baby. These restrooms must be accessible to both males and females and must post public signs in the lobbies of buildings directing visitors to the changing areas.
Illinois Patch reports that the minimum wage will increase for the first time in more than ten years from $8.25 to 9.25 an hour. This increase is part of a larger change in the State’s minimum wage which is scheduled to increase to $15 an hour by January 1, 2025.
Under the Public University Uniform Admission Act, high school students whose grade point average ranks in the top ten percent of their class in one of the two years preceding their application to college are guaranteed admission at any of Illinois’ public universities. However, this law does not apply to the State’s flagship school, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Multiple laws take effect regarding gender identification. Under the Illinois Identification Card Act, all State issued driver’s licenses, identification cards and other registration forms offered by the Secretary of State must provide the applicant with the option of selecting “non-binary” as a gender designation in addition to “male” or “female.”
There are number of new coverage requirements for Illinois’ health insurance companies. Beginning in 2020, insurers are required to cover medically necessary EpiPen injectors, mammograms and skin cancer screenings. Insurance companies cannot pass the cost of these screenings on to their insureds through co-pays or other cost sharing provisions. A new law also requires insurance companies to offer hearing aids and other hearing related services to individuals over 65 years of age.